9 Comments
Mar 20, 2023Liked by Norse Report

I think bringing in a transfer would be very beneficial for this team. With the departure of Brandon, this team will lack size next season. I’d like to see Zorgvol play a bigger role both offensively and defensively. I believe he has the raw potential to be a threat on both ends. At the same time, bringing in another primary ball handler wouldn’t hurt either. I wouldn’t mind seeing Vinson run the point as a starter, but the bench depth is where things get shaky. I personally don’t see that as a role for Jake Evans. I could see somebody like Mason taking on that role. The transfer has been huge for the Norse success the last few years (Langdon, Brandon, Rhodes, etc.) and I think it would be pivotal to maintaining the success if they could go out and grab a guy who has already proven he can play at this level. Meanwhile, the two guys I look at this upcoming season who can really grow and help this team are Isaiah Mason and Immanuel Zorgvol. If Mason can run the offense effectively and Zorgvol can utilize his size and athleticism, this team could very well be playing in the NCAA tournament once again.

Expand full comment
author

Totally with you on Zorgvol - I know advanced stats don't tell the whole story but the team's defensive rating when he was on the court this year was INSANELY GOOD. Playing in 31 of 34 games was telling for me, too. The coaches clearly trust him, which is HUGE.

As for Zay -- he just entered the portal this morning. He gone. So we gotta bring in 2 ball handlers I believe. Hopefully the coaches can get rockin on that ASAP.

Expand full comment

Didn’t hear the news about Mason, that stinks. I wish the best for him. I agree, getting some guys to the run the offense is definitely priority #1

Expand full comment
author

Yeah we woke up to it, too.. Shame, but understandable. Kid got 40 minutes all season.

Expand full comment
Mar 20, 2023Liked by Norse Report

I want to see Wells and Tchilombo play more in small-ball lineups next season. They need a seasoned point guard and stretch-4's.

Expand full comment
author

I think that’s entirely possible. I think we could see one of the two of them potentially start if they end up determining that Iman isn’t ready to start.

Expand full comment

Depth has obviously been a problem, but how much of that comes down to coaching philosophy? The Norse were up on poor opponents a few times this past season and backups didn't get in until very late in the game (less than 5 minutes). To me, it seems like Horn wants 6 or 7 guys getting PT and that's it. Going to lead to younger players transferring unless they see success like Wells and Sumler in limited time.

I really like Zorg for next year. Can we get a fundraiser for a soft serve ice cream machine next to his dorm room? Adding weight will really help.

NKU should focus on adding a PG and then size from the portal. Curious if NKU could ever grab a player looking to transfer from a P5 or if they will always have to stick to a similar conference level.

Expand full comment

I think you're correct about the number of players Horn likes to play, but it seems to hurt as we have seen numerous large leads blown.

I do think it is possible a P5 player could commit, particularly someone who was a backup center. That would be ideal.

Expand full comment

I agree and would prefer to get more minutes from the bench. I know Horn made comments about it during the season and is why Faulkner switched to a 6th man. It leaves so many questions as a fan about what we have in younger players. Maybe the combo of Zorg and Tchilombo are fine as the big man rotation next year? But Zorg got limited minutes and Tchilombo was a redshirt.

The more I think about it, the more I want a good PG transfer over anything else.

Expand full comment